clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How to Watch: 2021 MLS All-Star events

Everything you need to know for the 2021 MLS All-Star Skills Challenge and Game.

MLS All-Star Game will be played at the Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles.

The 2021 MLS All-Star Game is here and the stars of Major League Soccer and Liga MX are convening in Los Angeles for the two-day event. The All-Star Game returns after it was postponed last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Among the 28 players headed to California is Columbus Crew star Lucas Zelarayan, who becomes the 24th Black & Gold player to go to an All-Star Game.

Zelarayan will compete in both events, which begin Tuesday night with the Skills Challenge. Eight players from each league will compete in five different skills events that include shooting, passing and more. The following evening, the best of MLS will play the best of Liga MX for the first time.

This will be the fifth unique format for the All-Star Game with the league starting with a traditional East vs. West game and following that up with a one-off game between the best Americans in MLS against the rest of the world. The most used format was the MLS All-Stars playing a European team with MLS losing the past four All-Star Games.

How to watch (Skills Challenge):

Date: Tuesday, Aug. 24, 2021, 9 p.m. ET

Venue: Banc of California Stadium - Los Angeles, California

TV: FOX Sports 1

Streaming: FOX Sports App

Skills Challenge Participants:

MLS: Rodolfo Pizarro (Inter Miami), Raul Ruidiaz (Seattle Sounders), Lucas Zelarayan (Columbus Crew), Diego Rossi (Los Angeles FC), Nani (Orlando City), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas), Matt Turner (New England Revolution), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

Liga MX: Pedro Canelo (Toluca), Rogelio Funes Mori (CF Monterrey), Jonathan Rodriguez (Cruz Azul), Rubens Sambueza (Toluca), Diego Valdes (Santos Laguna), Orbelin Pineda (Cruz Azul), Alfredo Talavera (Pumas UNAM), Nahuel Guzman (Tigres UANL)

Skills Challenge Events:

Shooting Challenge, Touch Challenge, Cross & Volley Challenge, Passing Challenge and Crossbar Challenge

How to watch (All-Star Game):

Date: Wednesday, Aug. 25, 2021, 9 p.m. ET

Venue: Banc of California Stadium - Los Angeles, California

TV: FOX Sports 1

Streaming: FOX Sports App

MLS All-Stars:

Goalkeepers: Matt Turner (New England Revolution), Pedro Gallese (Orlando City), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders: Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC), Yeimar (Seattle Sounders), Kai Wagner (Philadelphia Union), James Sands (NYCFC), Alex Roldan (Seattle Sounders), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United), Nouhou (Seattle Sounders), Jesus David Murillo (Los Angeles FC), Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy), George Bello (Atlanta United)

Midfielders: Lucas Zelarayan (Columbus Crew), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders), Emmanuel Reynoso (Minnesota United), Joao Paulo (Seattle Sounders), Damir Kreilach (FC Dallas), Eduard Atuesta (Los Angeles FC), Rodolfo Pizarro (Inter Miami)

Forwards/Wingers: Daniel Salloi (Sporting Kansas City), Raul Ruidiaz (Seattle Sounders), Diego Rossi (Los Angeles FC), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas), Nani (Orlando City), Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes), Gustavo Bou (New England Revolution)

Head Coach: Bob Bradley (Los Angeles FC)

Liga MX All-Stars:

Goalkeepers: Guillermo Ochoa (Club America), Alfredo Talavera (Pumas UNAM), Nahuel Guzman (Tigres UANL)

Defenders: Williams Tesillo (Club Leon), Cesar Montes (CF Monterrey), Victor Guzman (Tijuana), Matheus Doria (Santos Laguna), Pablo Aguilar (Cruz Azul), Salvador Reyes (Club America), Jorge Sanchez (Club America), Juan Escobar (Cruz Azul), Kevin Alvarez (Pachuca)

Midfielders: Diego Valdes (Santos Laguna), Rubens Sambueza (Toluca), Luis Romo (Cruz Azul), Angel Mena (Club Leon), Fernando Gorriaran (Santos Laguna), Pedro Aquino (Club America), Javier Salas (Puebla), Orbelin Pineda (Cruz Azul), Erik Lira (Pumas UNAM)

Forwards: Jonathan Rodriguez (Cruz Azul), Rogelio Funes Mori (CF Monterrey), Alexis Canelo (Toluca), Santiago Gimenez (Cruz Azul), Nicholas Ibanez (Pachuca), Alexis Vega (Chivas Guadalajara)

Head Coach: Juan Reynoso (Cruz Azul)

MLS All-Star Game History:

1996: MLS East 3, MLS West 2 (Giants Stadium)

1997: MLS East 5, MLS West 4 (Giants Stadium)

1998: MLS USA 6, MLS World 1 (Citrus Bowl)

1999: MLS West 6, MLS East 4 (Qualcomm Stadium)

2000: MLS East 9, MLS West 4 (Columbus Crew Stadium)

2001: MLS West 6, MLS East 6 (Spartan Stadium)

2002: MLS All-Stars 3, United States 2 (RFK Stadium)

2003: MLS All-Stars 3, Club Guadalajara 1 (Home Depot Center)

2004: MLS East 3, MLS West 2 (Gillette Stadium)

2005: MLS All-Stars 4, Fulham 1 (Columbus Crew Stadium)

2006: MLS All-Stars 1, Chelsea 0 (Toyota Park)

2007: MLS All-Stars 2, Celtic 0 (Dick’s Sporting Goods Park)

2008: MLS All-Stars 3, West Ham United 2 (BMO Field)

2009: Everton defeat MLS All-Stars on penalties after 1-1 draw (Rio Tinto Stadium)

2010: Manchester United 5, MLS All-Stars 2 (Reliant Stadium)

2011: Manchester United 4, MLS All-Stars 0 (Red Bull Arena)

2012: MLS All-Stars 3, Chelsea 2 (PPL Park)

2013: AS Roma 3, MLS All-Stars 1 (Sporting Park)

2014: MLS All-Stars 2, Bayern Munich 1 (Providence Park)

2015: MLS All-Stars 2, Tottenham Hotspur 1 (Dick’s Sporting Goods Park)

2016: Arsenal 2, MLS All-Stars 1 (Avaya Stadium)

2017: Real Madrid defeat MLS All-Stars on penalties after 1-1 draw (Soldier Field)

2018: Juventus defeat MLS All-Stars on penalties after 1-1 draw (Mercedes-Benz Stadium)

2019: Atletico Madrid 3, MLS All-Stars 0 (Exploria Stadium)