clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gyasi Zardes is only Crew player called up to USMNT for January camp

Gyasi Zardes receives international call-up ahead of the USMNT January camp and friendly against Costa Rica.

Soccer: CONCACAF Nations League Soccer-Canada at USA Reinhold Matay-USA TODAY Sports

The United States Men’s National Team roster was released for the team’s annual January Camp at Aspire Academy in Doha, Qatar on Monday and it featured 22 Major League Soccer players. One of those players was Columbus Crew SC forward Gyasi Zardes, who was selected to the roster by his former head coach in Columbus, Gregg Berhalter.

As a prominent fixture of the national team, Zardes has earned 55 caps, scoring 12 goals and recording nine assists. Zardes scored his first international goal in a 4-3 win over the Netherlands in 2015. The forward’s most recent feature with the Stars and Stripes came earlier in the month in a CONCACAF League of Nation’s match against Canada on Dec. 15 where he scored two goals.

So far this year, Zardes has six goals, which leads the American team, and was one of six finalists for the U.S. Soccer Male Athlete of the Year.

The U.S. is set to open up camp in Qatar from Jan. 5-25. The Yankees then will move to Los Angeles for training from Jan. 26-31 before an international friendly match against Costa Rica at Dignity Health Sports Park in Carson, California.

Entering his third year with the Crew, Zardes will miss some of the team’s preseason training. The Black & Gold will begin camp on Jan. 18 in Chula Vista, California, following entrance physicals and testing in Columbus. The Crew then travels to Cancun, Mexico on Jan. 29 before moving camp to Tucson, Arizona on Feb. 10 to participate in the 2020 Visit Tucson Sun Cup. The Black & Gold begins the 2020 MLS regular season at MAPFRE Stadium against New York City FC on Sunday, March 1 at 12:30 p.m. ET.

Here is a look at the full USMNT roster going into January Camp:

Goalkeepers: Sean Johnson (New York City FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), JT Marcinkowsi (San Jose Earthquakes), Matt Turner (New England Revolution)

Defense: Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy), Reggie Cannon (FC Dallas), Chase Gasper (Minnesota United), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids), Walker Zimmerman (Los Angeles Football Club),

Midfielders: Brendon Aaronson (Philadelphia Union), Christian Cappis (Hobro), Bryang Kayo (N/A), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes)

Forwards: Paul Arriola (D.C. United), Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids), Ulysses Llanez (Vfl Wolfsburg), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Gyasi Zardes (Columbus Crew)