clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Full 2016 Columbus Crew SC schedule released

New, 1 comment

There are 17 dates to fill MAPFRE Stadium.

Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

MLS released the full league schedule and now Columbus Crew SC fans will know the gauntlet that the team will have to get through to get back to the playoffs on the road to MLS Cup 2016.

As released earlier, the team opens on the road at the Portland Timbers before hosting the Philadelphia Union at MAPFRE Stadium on March 12th at 7:30 pm. The team then goes on a three game road trip through the rest of March and half of April before home game number two on April 16th.

After opening on the road, the team will close on the road with five of the last seven away from MAPFRE Stdadium, including three straight away dates to end the season. Those last three coming over the final 10 days of the season.

Despite last season's stellar performance, the Black & Gold still have a paltry number of national TV dates. They open on ESPN and have two games on FS1, a July 3rd visit to Sporting Kansas City and hosting the New England Revolution on September 25th. They could be highlighted on the flex TV scheduling on the final two weeks of the season, including Decision Day at New York City FC to add to the number.

Date Day Opponent Time TV
3/6/2016 Sunday at Portland Timbers 4:30 p.m. ESPN
3/12/2016 Saturday Philadelphia Union 7:30 p.m.
3/19/2016 Saturday at Chicago Fire 5:00 p.m.
4/2/2016 Saturday at FC Dallas 9:00 p.m.
4/9/2016 Saturday at Montreal Impact TBD
4/16/2016 Saturday New York City FC 7:30 p.m.
4/23/2016 Saturday Houston Dynamo 7:30 p.m.
4/30/2016 Saturday at Seattle Sounders FC 4:00 p.m.
5/7/2016 Saturday Montreal Impact 7:30 p.m.
5/14/2016 Saturday Colorado Rapids 7:30 p.m.
5/21/2016 Saturday at Toronto FC TBD
5/28/2016 Saturday Real Salt Lake 7:30 p.m.
6/1/2016 Wednesday at Philadelphia Union TBD
6/18/2016 Saturday Montreal Impact 7:30 p.m.
6/25/2016 Saturday New York Red Bulls 7:30 p.m.
7/3/2016 Sunday at Sporting Kansas City 7:00 p.m. FS1
7/9/2016 Saturday at New England Revolution 7:30 p.m.
7/13/2016 Wednesday Toronto FC 7:30 p.m.
7/16/2016 Saturday D.C. United 7:30 p.m.
7/23/2016 Saturday Orlando City SC 7:30 p.m.
7/31/2016 Sunday at Toronto FC TBD
8/13/2016 Saturday New York City FC 7:30 p.m.
8/20/2016 Saturday at New England Revolution 7:30 p.m.
8/24/2016 Wednesday Philadelphia Union 7:30 p.m.
8/27/2016 Saturday San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m.
9/3/2016 Saturday at LA Galaxy 10:30 p.m.
9/10/2016 Saturday Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7:30 p.m.
9/17/2016 Saturday at Orlando City SC 7:30 p.m.
9/25/2016 Sunday New England Revolution 7:00 p.m. FS1
9/28/2016 Wednesday at D.C. United 7:30 p.m.
10/1/2016 Saturday Chicago Fire 7:30 p.m.
10/13/2016 Thursday at Chicago Fire 8:30 p.m.
10/16/2016 Sunday at New York Red Bulls 5:00 p.m.
10/23/2016 Sunday at New York City FC 4:00 p.m.

Which game are you looking forward to?