clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLS Unveils Protected List for Expansion Draft

Major League Soccer announced the protected players for this week's Expansion Draft.

David Manning-USA TODAY Sports

MLS clubs had to have their protected lists for the upcoming MLS Expansion Draft in by 2 p.m. today. Columbus Crew SC made more surprises in the pre-draft half day open trade window - trading away Josh Williams and Bernardo Anor - than they did with their protected.

Here is a breakdown of who is protected and who is left exposed.

Protected Players Automatically Protected Exposed
Steve Clark Chad Barson Jairo Arrieta
Ethan Finlay Ross Friedman Fifi Baiden
Waylon Francis Matt Lampson Adam Bedell
Romain Gall Wil Trapp Eric Gehrig
Federico Higuain Matt Walker Kevan George
Hector Jimenez Matt Wiet Daniel Paladini
Kei Kamara Aaron Schoenfeld
Justin Meram Ben Speas
Michael Parkhurst Brad Stuver
Emmanuel Pogatetz Ben Sweat
Tony Tchani Agustin Viana
Tyson Wahl

All of Crew SC's automatically protected players are homegrown and a few of them - Friedman, Walker, and Wiet - are no longer with the team. Players whose contracts were not renewed following the 2014 season still are eligible for this draft and that is why the likes of Viana and Paladini are listed.

There were some notable names around the league left unprotected by their clubs. This includes D.C. United's Eddie Johnson, Sporting Kansas City's Claudio Bieler, the New York Red Bulls' Tim Cahill, the New England Revolution's Diego Fagundez, Real Salt Lake's Ned Grabavoy and Chris Wingert, and the Philadelphia Union's Zac MacMath.

The Expansion Draft will take place on Wednesday December 10 at 2 p.m. The draft will consist of 10 rounds and a team can lose no more than two players. If a player is selected, the club can protect an additional player and are given allocation money in exchange.