clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michael Parkhurst Wins MLS Xbox Individual Fair Play Award

The Crew's Michael Parkhurst has won the first individual award of the year in the Individual Fair Play award.

Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports

Columbus Crew SC's Michael Parkhurst has won the Major League Soccer Xbox Individual Fair Play award. Parkhurst won the award over the Portland Timbers Darlington Nagbe and the Chicago Fire's Harrison Shipp.

The award is selected based on fewest fouls committed, cards received, and other evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior. Parkhurst played 33 games for the Black and Gold and committed just 11 fouls and received one yellow card.

Parkhurst won the Individual Fair Play award in back-to-back years in 2007 and 2008 during his time with the New England Revolution, making him the second player in MLS history to win the award three times. In over 13,000 career regular-season MLS minutes, Parkhurst has never been shown a red card.

The Crew have two other members of their organization up for individual awards. Sporting Director and head coach Gregg Berhalter is up for MLS Coach of the Year award and Steve Clark is nominated for MLS Goalkeeper of the Year. Those awards will be announced in the coming day.